Wild Thing, You Make My Heart Sing

It’s true.  My love of wildflowers really does make me happy.  Why??? Because I don’t have to water them, and they come back year after year and bloom, it seems like forever! Granted almost 4 inches of rain the other day probably doesn’t hurt either…

rain gauge 5-5

In honor of National Wildflower Week, I have decided to showcase some of the wildflowers currently blooming around the house.  I’ll try to list the common and scientific, but some I was unable to come to a conclusion on their identification.

First, I’ll start with this beautiful Two-Leaf Senna (Senna roemeriana).

Two-Leaf Senna-Senna roemeriana4

This is currently my only one blooming, but holy cow isn’t she the belle of the ball?! Also note how the daisy is subtly fighting for some real estate…nice camo.

Two-Leaf Senna-Senna roemeriana2

Next, we have the pretty in pink, Texas Bedstraw (Galium texense A. Gray)Texas Bedstraw-Galium texense A. Gray

The Indian Blankets (Gaillardia pulchella) are going crazy right now… Gaillardia Pulchella 2

These seem to be the last of my Prairie Fleabane (Erigeron strigosus)IMG_2403

I love how they can brighten up a shady bed.IMG_2404

Some more gold for the garden with Zexmenia (Wedelia texana).IMG_2399

These grow like weeds in my garden and self seed like crazy.  We can mow over them, never supplement their water, and they’ll still bloom like crazy.  This is a must-have perennial for your xeric garden that has crappy/no soil.

IMG_2398

Some critters hanging out in the shade of a Square bud primrose (Calylophus berlandieri)…growing happily in the ditch for the past three years!

IMG_2388  IMG_2384

The Indian Paintbrushes (Castilleja indivisa) are still going strong while the Bluebonnets are starting to fade…

IMG_2381

Some Blue Sage (Salvia texana)…I think…Blue Sage--Salvia Texana

Some Blue Gilia (Gilia capitata) makes for a bright and happy little ground cover.

Blue Giia

Got no idea what this little yellow jewel is.  Help a sister out??IMG_2373 IMG_2372

A perennial favorite, Four-Nerve Daisy (Tetraneuris scaposa)

Four Nerve Daisy-Bitterweed

I can’t decide what these are…Four-Nerves or some other kind of flower in the Aster family??

IMG_2364  IMG_2367

Prickly Pear (Opuntia) about to bloom, so it counts right?

IMG_2411

The Bluebonnets are starting to dwindle but the Blackfoot Daisies  are just starting to put on their show.

blackfoot daisy and bluebonnet

These cute little Mexican Hats (Ratibida columnifera) looked more like ballerinas dancing in time with the wind.

IMG_2390 IMG_2393IMG_2391

or maybe space ships taking off!IMG_2395IMG_2394

And last but not least, and also not a wildflower, but a wild critter…IMG_2410

Can you see hims?? A green (or rather brown) anole…again, I think.IMG_2408

?He? (and I) wish you a very happy Friday and Mother’s Day weekend!

Update: I thought I would add some sites and apps that I found useful in identifying the wildflowers found on the property.

Gary Regner Photography: Wildflower Index

Wildflowers of Central Texas

Special Collections: Central Texas Wildflowers

Wildflowers of Central Texas by Sutro Media iPhone App

Leave a Reply

