I Smell a DIY…

While recently visiting Wimberley Market Days with my mom, sister, and niece, my sister and I spotted some awesome pieces of colored glass hanging in one of the booths.

However, there were two problems. The price. $50 on the low end!! And the fact that these giants chunks of glass were attached to some garish looking “antiques.” We approached the owners of the booth and asked if they could make any with out said ornaments and they flat out refused. Who knows why. To me, a sale is a sale. Oh well, it set me on an adventure to find this “chunk glass.”

Turns out, it’s called slag glass and is basically what’s leftover from glassware makers, like Fenton, when they can’t recycle it any more. Bitty thought that we would have to dive to the bottom of the oceans. 🐬🐠🐟 Thank God it was only a short trip to Spicewood to a little Nursery called the Living Desert Ranch.

Slag glass for miles…well not really. But there was a lot! And it was only $3.50 per pound! Bitty, Budge and I got our gloves on and set to work finding just the right pieces that would grace the oak trees for our DIY project.


After finding some awesome pieces, we visited the green house nursery. IT. WAS. AWESOME. Cactus of every variety and color and size. Some succulents and agave as well. Everything was so beautifully put together. The garden art and pottery wasn’t too shabby either. The owner, Mr. Dunten, said that he does all the art and growing himself. Impressive.
Β Β Β 
Β Β 
Β Β 
A Bougainvillea bigger than the hubs?! Yes please!

His son also has an art gallery in an old farmhouse just near the green house. He is a mouth painter due to an injury resulting in him being paralyzed from the neck down. The art was absolutely gorgeous. My personal fave was one of a fat chicken. 😊 I didn’t get to meet the other Mr. Dunten, but his dad told me that he went on to be accepted into a prestigious art school for mouth and foot painters in Lichtenstein, got married, and had two kids. Inspiring!

Make a trip out here and you won’t regret it!

I’ll be sure to update when we’ve actually DIYed anything. πŸ˜‰


7 thoughts on “I Smell a DIY…

  1. I haven’t been to Living Desert since they moved from the Galleria several years ago. I’ll have to go check it out. I can’t wait to see what you’re going to do with the glass. Make sure to post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such a pretty little spot they have there…and I’ve got all the supplies to make our “tree bling,” now I just need the time! πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

