September 2016 Foliage Follow-up

Walking around outside last weekend was AMAZING. High 80s to low 90s is Heaven for me.  The foliage agrees. 

Gulf Fritillary butterfly appears to be landing on Ginger the Corgi.  Note how the slender lobe passionvine (Passiflora tenuiloba) appears to be taking off in flight with the butterfly! Lerve. 😍

Purple Heart in a turquoise pot sparkles in the shade. (Still trying figure something else to add…any ideas??)

While Hairy Grama grass glows in the sun!

And our newest additions to the garden: An Agave ovatifolia ‘Vanzie’ and two Agave parryi var. truncata. Hill Country Water Gardens had a sale where you could buy any two plants and get the 3rd free! (We also scored a pup in the parryi pot)

These are right in time for Halloween. Don’t they look like a witch’s fingernails??

If I ever get the chance to name some hybrid agave, it’s going to have to be named Agave ‘Hocus Pocus’ or something to that effect. 🎃

In sadder news, my color guard yucca’s roots started to rot after that August rain bomb.  

Luckily it’s not those devilish little agave snout weevils. I let the roots kinda dry out and then replanted thanks to the suggestions of a fellow Austin gardener who blogs at Rock Rose. Drainage, drainage,drainage. 

Hopefully it returns! I’ll keep you updated. Thanks to Pam over at Digging for hosting this super fun gardening meme!

3 thoughts on “September 2016 Foliage Follow-up

  1. I am loving the grasses and the beautiful weather right now too! That pic of the butterfly and corgi is pretty funny, makes your corgi look like he has fairy wings.

    Like

  2. The first shot made me laugh. It looks as if Ginger is about to be swooped away by a giant butterfly! I usually melt when temperatures hit the 90’s. To hear how happy you are that things have cooled off puts the Texas heat in perspective for me. Holy moly – I don’t think I would survive your warm days… Lovely shots, and I love the witches’ finger nails – perfect for Halloween! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment